Just Lying

You may have played the fun game Two Truths and a Lie to get to know a group before. The name is pretty much self-explanatory, and it’s a great icebreaker. I tell you two truths about myself and one lie, and the group casts their votes on which one they think is the lie. The best way to make it hard is to not make the lie sound crazy—for instance, I could make my lie: I used to live in a cave on the side of a mountain. Well, chances are, I probably didn’t live in a cave on the side of a mountain, so everyone is probably going to vote for that one as the lie, and get it right. Or, I could make my lie sound possible. Here are my three statements—guess which one is the lie! I like raisins. I’ve been bitten by a monkey. I have four sisters.

Did you cast your vote yet? My lie was the first statement: I like raisins. I do not like raisins (sorry, Sun-Maid), but it sounded like it could have been a truth. The monkey statement sounded a bit more far-fetched, yet that one was true (take a petting zoo monkey’s word for it if she doesn’t want to be held!).

So, where am I going with all of this? There is a difference between joking and lying. In this game, we realize that some lies sound an awful lot like the truth. Have you ever heard someone say one of these “lies in disguise,” then vindicate it by laughing and saying, “Just kidding!” A joke sounds like a joke. Anyone can tell it’s not true. A lie is not always easily figured out to be false. If someone tells me there’s a T-Rex behind me, I’m going to laugh and automatically know that there’s not a T-Rex behind me; that’s obvious. Anybody can tell that that’s a joke. But, if someone tells me there’s a big wolf spider behind me, I’m going to scream and run and panic. I’m not going to think it’s funny (I’m not a big spider enthusiast… at all)! The person may laugh and say, “It was a joke!” but no, no—it was a lie. Another difference between jokes and lies: jokes tend to be funny and, most of the time, harmless. Lies, on the flip side, are pretty much just destructive.
Proverbs 26:18-19 (NIV) gives a great analogy on this type of false joking: “Like a maniac shooting flaming arrows of death is one who deceives their neighbor and says, I was only joking!” Wow. The example itself sounds bad. A maniac shooting flaming arrows of death! That’s enough to keep anyone from pulling any of these joke-lies. I’m all for a good friendly joke, but when joking becomes lying, it’s time to rethink our sense of humor.

The Father has commanded us to walk in truth (2 John 1:4). There is so much more on truth, honesty, and lying in the Bible that I couldn’t possibly fit it all in this short little section. Although telling the truth is not always easy (in fact, many times it is hard), honesty is an essential quality in the life of a believer. I would encourage you to read up on the subject in the Bible. The Bible is truth (John 17:17)! Every word within is true. From how the earth was created to who God is, every word in God’s Holy Book can be trusted. If we are going to be imitators of Jesus, as we should be (1 Corinthians 11:1), we will be truthful, as Jesus was. Jesus is the truth (John 14:6)!

~An excerpt from my work-in-progress book, The Greatest Book You’ve Never Read~

Don’t forget to tell all your friends to subscribe at the bottom of the page! Here’s something new: you can drop me a note in the “Contact” section right under the header!

Today’s Comment Prompt: Who in your life has set the best example of truthfulness for you? How?

Thanks for reading today! You are in my prayers!

Your friend, Marjorie =)

Leave a Comment

