Just 10 More Minutes…

Those are the words that run through my head as my alarm clock begins to sing Deep In the Heart of Texas at six in the morning. Those same thoughts lead me to set my alarm clock for another 10 minutes. And another. And another… until finally, it’s been half an hour since I purposed the night before to get up and read the Bible.

As for me, I’m not a morning person. But, let me back up a bit.

About two years ago, I made a commitment to read the Bible everyday. I don’t believe I’ve missed even five days since then! This has been a great commitment to make, and I’d encourage all of you do the same. If you would like to know how to start, I would be more than happy to give you some suggestions!

Up until this past Thursday, my personal Bible time (aside from schoolwork and church) usually looked like reading a couple verses from various books and chapters in the evening. But now I see that perhaps I should have been doing things a tad differently.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I know that for some people’s situations, the evening is the only time all day that they have to slow down and spend time with God. But just a few days ago, I was prompted by the Lord that, perhaps, I should begin spending time with the Lord in the morning. Instead of just ending my day with fellowship with God and making it the last thing I do in the day, I should be starting my day in the Word and making it the first thing I do.

Many verses in Scripture mention fellowshipping with the Lord in the morning (emphasis mine):

They rose early in the morning and worshiped before the Lord… {1 Samuel 1:19 ESV}

And he read from it facing the square before the Water Gate from early morning until midday, in the presence of the men and the women and those who could understand. And the ears of all the people were attentive to the Book of the Law. {Nehemiah 8:3 ESV}

Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days. {Psalm 90:14 ESV}

And rising very early in the morning, while it was still dark, he [Jesus] departed and went out to a desolate place, and there he prayed. {Mark 1:35 ESV} [brackets mine]

And early in the morning all the people came to him [Jesus] in the temple to hear him. {Luke 21:38 ESV} [brackets mine]

Early in the morning he [Jesus] came again to the temple. All the people came to him, and he sat down and taught them. {John 8:2 ESV} [brackets mine]

Well, you get the idea. =) So, back to my beginning story. The first morning I tried this new method, I woke up, prayed for the day ahead of me, decided to begin working through Romans (I read Romans 1 the first day), wrote a little summary on the chapter in my Bible journal, wrote out a key verse from that chapter, and I read from a few devotionals. And the result: I really felt refreshed from that early time in God’s Word (very RARE for an evening person to feel refreshed in the morning!) I ended in prayer, and I went about my day. In the evening, I skimmed over the chapter I had read in the morning, and I jumped around the Bible reading a few verses I had previously highlighted. I am also working on memorizing Scripture.

I wanted to share this with you because Bible reading is one of the most vital keys to our Christian walk. Daily Bible reading is essential to the life of a believer. We need to be feeding our spiritual person with spiritual food, or else we will get spiritually sick from starvation. My nearly-finished, first-ever book, The Greatest Book You’ve Never Read, revolves around reading (and eating) our Spiritual food every day. We don’t regularly go days without eating physical meals, so why do we so often neglect eating our spiritual meals?

Would you like to join me on this fight against sleepiness, and wake up in the morning to read God’s Word? I’d love your moral support!

Don’t forget, the SUBSCRIBE contest (see last week’s post) is still going on for ONE MORE WEEK and all U.S. readers can STILL enter for a chance to win some great book prizes! Also, check out the new poll in the Contact section to let me know how you found out about Everything Pretty Much. I’d love your feedback, whether in the form of comments or notes in the Contact section! Likes, tweets, pins, and shares also make me smile. =) Don’t forget to tell all your friends to subscribe!

Tell me, how do you prefer to read the Bible?

Your friend, Marjorie =)

O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I prepare a sacrifice for you and watch. {Psalm 5:3 ESV}

Leave a Comment

