The Company We Keep

Hey there! What did you do this past weekend? I got a little time to catch up with a mentor friend of mine. Thank you, Allie, for your words of encouragement and a wonderful little visit! =)

I am blessed to have many godly friends around me that love the Lord and share many similar views and beliefs as I do. But, things weren’t always this way. There have been times when the counsel, influence, and behavior of those I called my friends was, well, less than godly. My parents were a big help in pointing out these friendships to my attention when I couldn’t see the wrong for myself. Not that I appreciated their warnings at the time, but I can definitely look back with much thankfulness.

Image

It is so important to surround ourselves with good company: godly friends and mentors. As 1 Corinthians 15:33 {NLT} says, “…bad company corrupts good character.” Friends and the counsel and influence that they give us, whether it be good and edifying or bad and destructive, shape us into the people we become. Two good quotes on friendship sum up this effect: Show me your friends, and I’ll show you your future. Show me your friends, and I’ll show you who you are.

There are some friendships that we pour into the other, some that we get poured into by the other, and some that there is a mutual pouring and being poured into. Make sure that you have a healthy balance of all three in your life. Remember, just as we want godly friends that will point us towards Christ, we should strive to be those same kind of friends to those around us: the kind that will love them like Christ does, encourage them and keep them accountable in their spiritual walk, and be there for them, faithfully praying alongside them. 

Read more on friends and good company in the Bible: Psalm 37:30, Proverbs 27:9, 1 Corinthians 15:33, Colossians 3:16.

When you comment today, do you have any advice (maybe even from personal experience) on how to be a godly friend or on how to surround yourself with godly friends? I love to hear from you as always (you can send me a note in the Contact section, remember?)… and, as a favor to a friend like me (wink), tell your friends to subscribe to Everything Pretty Much at the bottom of the page… don’t forget to tell them to “confirm” in their email inbox. Wow, thanks, you’re such a good friend! =) 

Have a blessed week!

Your friend, Marjorie

A friend is always loyal, and a brother is born to help in time of need. {Proverbs 17:17 NLT}

Leave a Comment

