Not-So-New Thoughts On New People

Hello! I’m so glad you dropped by. I’m telling you, two weeks is a long time to wait between posts.

School, for me, is officially in full-swing! Though I am homeschooled, I have plenty of classes that start up right as the school year begins. What is your favorite thing about starting up a new school year? Ask me what my favorite is, and I’ll tell you, “That’s easy. Meeting new people!” I, for one, am a highly social person (it runs in the family). It’s sort of a second-nature habit to befriend and welcome newcomersโ€”a hobby of mine, I guess you could say. Currently, I am happily overwhelmed with the fact that there are so many new people in my classes that I am having trouble figuring out a way to meet them all!

I have realized what a key element hospitality is in loving others. I am so grateful to have places where I am surrounded by familiar faces and fantastic friends, but I have been on the flip-side of the coin, first hand. I have been the new person before. In fact, in some outlets, I am currently the new person! You’ve been there too. Maybe it was a new school, new job, new church, new town, state, country, etc. Remember the feeling that you wished someone would take the time to tear away from their already-formed group of friends and get to know you? Include you? Befriend you? Maybe I like making friends with people so much because there have been times when I’ve wanted to make friends so badly, but no one really gave much attention to the fact that I was new and friendless.

Never underestimate your effort to befriend a new person. As an advocate for all new persons around the globe, I’ll tell you that it does make a difference. Sometimes the hospitality factor of a certain place is the impression that sticks the most. How many people came up and greeted me? How many people were friendly? I challenge you to take the initiative to get to know a new person around you this week.

HelloMyNameIsDoodles

Hospitality is one of the ways that we can reflect Christ’s light and emit His love from within us to others. Sometimes, being a friend takes looking past the differences and prejudices we may have with someone and treating them with the care that Christ treats us with. Life is way too short not to “Love your neighbor as yourself” {Matthew 19:19 NLT}.

You know, one of the things I like to do when trading contact information with a newly-made friend is to give them one of my blog flyers (You know where this is headed). =) Point your new (and old) friends in the direction of Everything Pretty Much via Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, or word of mouth! When you comment today, tell me your thoughts on being the new person/welcoming new people.

God bless you this week!

Your friend, Marjorie

“So now I am giving you a new commandment: Love each other. Just as I have loved you, you should love each other. Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples.” {John 13:34-35 NLT}

Leave a Comment

