Amazing Grace

I have a question for you: what is grace?

I could give you a bunch of answers for that one: my sister’s middle name, the air that the proper people from the 1800’s carried, and the slack my mom gives me when I don’t wake up at 6:30! But none of those are the grace I am referring to.

As my computer’s dictionary app defines it, grace is: (in Christian belief) the free and unmerited favor of God, as manifested in the salvation of sinners and the bestowal of blessings. I was pleasantly surprised with the accuracy of this definition, in a nutshell saying that grace is “unmerited [undeserved] favor.”

I have been doing a challenge lately called the Romans Challenge, hosted by Grace Mally. Basically, I read Romans 1-8 every day for 30-50 days. I’m only on day 10, but it has been a learning, rewarding experience so far. In doing this, I have read over and over and over again about how our works count as nothing for our salvation. We cannot earn our way to Heaven. We’ve all sinned, we all deserve to die, but then Jesus came, and, as Romans 5:8 (NLT) tells us: But God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners.

Let that sink in. While we were still sinners, Jesus paid our price. Can you possibly think of anything more amazing?! Not only that, but after Jesus died for our sins, He conquered death, meaning that He made a way for us to be able to be with Him forever and ever and ever. That, my friends, is true grace. We don’t deserve it, but in His love and compassion, He made a way for us to abide in His true grace and to do as He did, and show grace to others because of what He did for us.

AmazingGrace

Meditating on God’s tremendous, mind-boggling grace should bring us to our knees as we realize that our …righteous deeds, they are nothing but filthy rags (Isaiah 64:6 NLT) in His sight. He wants our heart. Even those of us who’ve long since received Jesus as our Lord and Savior and who know the salvation message and who even share the gospel to others need to be reminded of His grace time and time again. It is never an old, exhausted subject.

If you have never received God’s unmerited favor—His grace—and never confessed and repented of your sins and invited Jesus into your heart to be your Savior, let me tell you that He wants you in His family. He really loves you. He made you. Jesus is the only way to get to Heaven. If you would like to become a follower of Christ, you can pray something like this:

Dear God, I know I am a sinner. I’ve done, thought, and said some awful things in my life like ___ , ___ , and ___. Please forgive me of my sins, and wash me clean with Jesus’s blood. I’m a sinner in need of a Savior, and I can’t earn my way into Heaven, so I invite Jesus into my heart to be the King and Ruler of my life. From this moment on, I commit to being a follower of Christ. I love you, Father. Thank you for sending Jesus to die for me and for forgiving me. In Jesus’s Name, Amen.

The decision to follow Christ is the best and most important decision anyone could ever make. If you made that choice, I would love to hear about it and help answer any questions you may have. Send me a message in the Contact section. And for all of us in God’s family, don’t forget to be sharing your faith and God’s grace and love with others around you.

Regardless, you should still send me a message in the Contact section. I’d love to know what you think! Also, your likes, tweets, and shares are great, too! =) Don’t forget to tell your friends to subscribe at the bottom of the page! When you comment today, tell me: what are your thoughts and insights on grace? or Who has been the best example of God’s grace to you?

Your friend, Marjorie

For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard. Yet God, with undeserved kindness, declares that we are righteous. He did this through Christ Jesus when he freed us from the penalty for our sins. {Romans 3:23-24 NLT}

Leave a Comment

