A Recipe for Salt and Light

So yesterday evening I was privileged to have the opportunity to actually give the message at my youth group! I spoke on how to be an example in our conduct from 1 Timothy 4:12 (NKJV; bold mine):

 Let no one despise your youth, but be an example to the believers in word, in conduct, in love, in spirit, in faith, in purity.

Some of the points discussed were:

  • The Bible is not a pointless list of do’s and don’t’s; rather the rules and commands in the Bible are there, not only for God’s sake, but for our sake and protection. (Were you mad at your parents for not letting you stick your finger in the electrical outlet when you were three? Probably at the time, but now you can see their reason and point.)
  • 2 Corinthians 1:12 talks about a “God-given holiness.” It does not go unnoticed by the world, and sometimes, we might even receive rejection and hatred for it. Jesus says in John 15:18 (NLT):

    “If the world hates you, remember that it hated me first.”

  • Even in our youth, our conduct can make a powerful impact. Surely its not news to you that a lot of people look down upon youth because our generation has earned themselves a reputation for being authority-defiant, back-talking, sin-dabbling freaks, to put it quite plainly. Can you imagine if we lived out the word of God in our actions everyday? Can you just see people turning their heads in awe and confusion, scratching their heads wondering why on earth we’re so different? For me, having good conduct almost turns into a dare when I put it in that perspective. I feel challenged to be different from the negative norm.
  • I shared a quote by UCLA basketball coach John Wooden,

    If I were ever prosecuted for my religion, I truly hope there would be enough evidence to convict me.

    Is that not a cool way to put it or what? Say we were charged with being a Christian as our crime in a world where Christianity is forbidden. Just imagine the witnesses going to the stand, “After careful investigation, we found out that Marjorie was loving her neighbor as herself.” “I saw Genevieve loving her enemy as herself!” “I saw _____ giving something without expecting anything in return! Do we need any more proof? The verdict is GUILTY!!!!!” I don’t know about you, but that’s the kind of life I want to live.

  • We must ask ourselves, “How do we live a life worthy of our calling?” (Ephesians 4:1 NLT) What would Jesus do? Think, “God has done so much for me—how can I possibly make my life be pleasing to Him?” Like our pastor said, “God? Can I do something for You?”
  • Actions speak louder than words. 1 John 3:18 says:

    “Dear children, let’s not merely say that we love each other; let us show the truth by our actions.”

    Our conduct, when ultimately pointing to God, who is love as we see in 1 John 4:8, will be full of love.

  • Jesus says in Matthew 5:13-14 (NLT): “You are the salt of the earth. But what good is salt if it has lost its flavor? Can you make it salty again? It will be thrown out and trampled underfoot as worthless. You are the light of the world—like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden.”

I am so thankful that I was given the opportunity to share.

I also did take a few seconds for advertising Everything Pretty Much last night… as you, too, can do via Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest! Don’t forget to tell your friends to subscribe! =)

Your friend, Marjorie

Let no one despise your youth, but be an example to the believers in word, in conduct, in love, in spirit, in faith, in purity. {1 Timothy 4:12 NKJV, bold mine}

Leave a Comment

