First Thing’s First

Forgive my disappearance from the blogging world for the past (one, two…) THREE months! And without warning too.

Here it is: I’m sorry.

My explanation? I’m a homeschooled highschooler wrapping up the school year! (You fellow homeschooled highschoolers know what I’m talking about!) Talent shows, raising ducks, piano playing, listening to vinyl records, reading about Genghis and Kublai Khan, watching God’s Not Dead, doing laundry, memorizing Scripture, eating Costa Rican chocolate, playing Maria in the Sound of Music… you know, the normal stuff that keeps most people’s schedules packed.

As for me, I love action. In my opinion, a busy schedule is just about as fun as it gets. I love activities and engagements, back-to-back. Nothing wrong with that… unless I forget to make time for what really matters.

I’ve seen it happen time and time again in my own life, and you can probably relate. My Bible time with God goes from fifteen minutes to fifteen seconds… and it somehow stays that way for a few days. I waste time doing unimportant things and I neglect spending time saturating my mind in the Word.

In my book, The Greatest Book You’ve Never Read, I talked about spiritual starvation:

Has it ever happened that you are lying in your bed at the end of a long day at the end of a long week, not quite asleep yet and silently thinking to yourself, when all of a sudden you realize something—you forgot to eat all week!…again! Man, that really slipped your mind. Oh well, at least tomorrow you’ll eat your scheduled Sunday morning family breakfast—it is a tradition, after all. You usually nibble on a light breakfast: a little pancake, half a stick of bacon, and, if you have room, a donut hole or two. The rest of the week, you usually forget to eat because you’re so busy, and you just don’t have the time. If you do happen to remember, you fish a cold french fry out of a box of leftovers, and just leave it at that.

You may be thinking, What?! This is completely unrealistic. How do you forget to eat?! The truth is, this example isn’t so far-fetched. True, we couldn’t go a week without physical food and not acknowledge tremendous pains and symptoms that our bodies send us, because our bodies need that food to live. Yet, as unrealistic as it sounds, the majority of proclaimed Christians on earth follow this pattern. No, no… they eat the food on their dinner plates. Their stomachs growl and hunger pains flood in if they don’t. But what slips their minds is their spiritual food. What is spiritual food? It’s the nourishment we get from reading the Word. It’s like vitamins for our spirit. It’s reading the Bible. Someone might go to church for two hours on Sunday mornings, but how is anybody whose spirit longs for a real relationship with God supposed to withstand such terrible starvation time and time again?

Whether it’s an active school, sports, work, or social life that prevents designated meal times to fill the spiritual food tank, Bible reading doesn’t seem to take high priority as its rank. Yeah, we have a spiritual breakfast on Sunday mornings, but look at it this way: If, out of the seven days in a week, we starve for six days and eat on the seventh, how is our health going to be affected? For better or for worse? Hands down, our health is going to plummet to the floor. We’ll be as skinny as wires and as transparent as glasses of water… if even that. You don’t suppose the ‘spiritual person’ of an inconsistent Bible reader could look like this miserable and famished being? I wonder.

And sure enough, my spiritual health does suffer! I often find myself acting without thinking and going with fleshly impulses when the Word isn’t fresh on my mind!

Thankfully, with God’s help, I can recover and get back into the groove of Bible reading.

~

Don’t forget to leave a comment today letting me hear your thoughts! Or, send me a message in the Contact section. Have you read The Greatest Book You’ve Never Read yet? Take the survey in the My Book section. Subscribe to Everything Pretty Much at the bottom of any page!

It’s good to be back! Enjoy your week! =)

Your friend, Marjorie

 

I have hidden your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you. {Psalm 119:11 NLT}

&

One of my new favorite quotes:

The Bible will be self-authenticating to you. It will find you at your deepest depths. You will know it is inspired, for you will find it inspiring. You will know God has gone into it, for God comes out of it. It is a revelation, for it reveals. It is an inexhaustible mine. You think you have exhausted it, and then you put down the shaft of meditation and strike new veins of rich ore. {E. Stanley Jones}

Leave a Comment

